Call to Action (Montgomery County Families):

Submitted by spta-vicepresident on Mon, 10/02/2017 - 19:28

The Government Operations Committee voted to cut borrowing limits for school construction/repairs. The Committee voted for cuts in borrowing limits by 9%.

The Board of Ed says we need a 10% increase to address MCPS' minimum C.I.P. needs. CIP = construction and repairs.

NEXT STEPS: The full Council votes on Tuesday. Time is of the essence. Please email and call your council members. 
Please highlight the importance of having resources to address the growing enrollment numbers.

MCPS's middle school & high school enrollment alone is projected to increase by 10,000 students in the next five years. That's more than 2 middle schools, and more than 3 high schools.

We also have growing safety expenses-- for fire sprinklers, working HVACs, and safe spaces for our kids to learn.

Please help our 160,000 students, their families, and MCPS staff to address current / future needs-- this starts with adequate CIP funding.

PLEASE REJECT PROPOSALS SET FORTH BY THE G.O. COMMITTEE AND FULLY FUND MCPS's CIP WITH THE RESOURCES WE NEED!

Roger Berliner 240-777-7828
Councilmember.Berliner@montgomerycountymd.gov

Marc Elrich 240-777-7966
Councilmember.Elrich@montgomerycountymd.gov

Nancy Floreen 240-777-7959
Councilmember.Floreen@montgomerycountymd.gov

Tom Hucker 240-777-7960
Councilmember.Hucker@montgomerycountymd.gov

Sidney Katz 240-777-7906
Councilmember.Katz@montgomerycountymd.gov

George Leventhal 240-777-7811
Councilmember.Leventhal@montgomerycountymd.gov

Nancy Navarro 240-777-7968
Councilmember.Navarro@montgomerycountymd.gov

Craig Rice 240-777-7955
Councilmember.Rice@montgomerycountymd.gov

Hans Riemer 240-777-7964
Councilmember.Riemer@montgomerycountymd.gov